Opel Movano
All generations, specs and history
Published Sources (4) Report an error
By Felix Hartmann, Automotive Technology & EV Contributor

- Built
- 1998–present
- Generations
- 3 · A to C
- Top power
- 200 kW (272 PS)
Timeline
Movano generations
Click a generation for its own page
- Movano A 1998–2010 · Van, Minibus · 59–107 kW (80–145 PS)
- Movano B 2010–2021 · Van, Minibus · 74–132 kW (101–179 PS)
- Movano C Current 2021–now · Van, Flatbed truck · 88–200 kW (120–272 PS)
Newest first · 3 generations since 1998
-
2021
C In production 2021–now · Van, Flatbed truck · 88–200 kW (120–272 PS)
-
2010
B 2010–2021 · Van, Minibus · 74–132 kW (101–179 PS)
- 1998 A 1998–2010 · Van, Minibus · 59–107 kW (80–145 PS)
All generations by year: Movano C (2021–now) · Movano B (2010–2021) · Movano A (1998–2010)
Which one is mine?
Pick the year of first registration to see which generation it is.
Check by VINWhich Movano to buy
Our verdict · Felix Hartmann
- Lowest running costs in town: the 2024 Movano Electric, with 110 kWh and up to 420 km WLTP.
- Long distances and towing: a 2024 diesel with 132 kW (180 hp) and the eight-speed automatic.
- Heavy rear-drive work: a 2010-2021 Movano B with rear-wheel drive and twin rear wheels.
- Budget used buy: a 2019-2021 Movano B with the Euro 6d-TEMP engines.
The Opel Movano is Opel's large van, sold since 1998 in three generations. The first two were versions of the Renault Master built by Renault in Batilly, France; since 2021 the Movano has been a version of the Fiat Ducato from the Stellantis group, and since the 2024 update it is offered as the Movano Electric with a 110 kWh battery and up to 420 km of WLTP range. In the UK the same vans are sold as the Vauxhall Movano.
In short
- Large van (about 3.5 t class): panel van, crew van, minibus, chassis cab, platform and tipper versions.
- Movano A (1998-2010) and Movano B (2010-2021) were Renault Master twins; Movano C (2021-) is a Fiat Ducato twin.
- Current diesels: 88, 103 and 132 kW (120, 140 and 180 hp), with an optional eight-speed automatic.
- Movano Electric (2024 update): 200 kW (270 hp), 110 kWh, up to 420 km WLTP and the same 17 m³ maximum load space as the diesel.
Specs by version
Verified Manufacturer and type-approval data from our catalog · Sources and methodology
Opel Movano at a glance
| Specification | Opel Movano |
|---|---|
| Segment | Large van / light commercial vehicle |
| Production | November 1998 to date (three generations) |
| Built by | Renault, Batilly, France (Movano A and B); Stellantis, with Sevel Sud in Atessa, Italy, as the main plant of the Ducato range (Movano C) |
| Twins | Renault Master, Nissan Interstar / NV400 (A, B); Fiat Ducato, Peugeot Boxer, Citroen Jumper (C) |
| Body styles | panel van, crew van, minibus, chassis cab, platform, tipper |
| Drive | front-wheel drive; Movano B also rear-wheel drive with single or twin rear wheels |
| Fuels | diesel, electric; hydrogen fuel cell version shown in 2024 |
| Load volume | 8-17 m³ |
The van is listed with the rest of the range in our Opel catalogue.
Generations and model history
| Generation | Code | Years | Body styles | Engines | Power (kW / hp) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Movano A (Renault Master II) | A | 1998-2010 | van, crew van, minibus, chassis cab | 1.9-3.0 diesel | 59-107 kW (79-143 hp) |
| Movano B (Renault Master III) | B | 2010-2021 | van, crew van, Combi, chassis cab | 2.3 diesel | 74-132 kW (99-177 hp) |
| Movano C (Fiat Ducato) | C | 2021- | van, chassis cab, platform, tipper | 2.2 diesel, electric | 88-200 kW (118-268 hp) |
Movano A (1998-2010)
Production of the first Movano began in November 1998 at the SOVAB plant in Batilly, alongside the second-generation Renault Master; Nissan added its Interstar version in 2002. German sources date the start of sales to 1999. The van had diesel engines from 1.9 to 3.0 litres with 59 to 107 kW; later 2.5 CDTI versions had 74 kW (101 PS), 88 kW (120 PS) and 107 kW (146 PS). A five-speed manual was standard, and from 2003 the Tec-Shift automated manual was offered. A facelift in October 2003 brought a new front and a slightly changed rear. Body versions were panel vans, crew vans and a minibus. Production ended in December 2009.
Movano B (2010-2021)
The second Movano started production in February 2010, again in Batilly, as a twin of the third-generation Master. For the first time it was available with rear-wheel drive, with single or twin rear wheels, alongside front-wheel drive. All versions used Renault's 2.3-litre turbodiesel, at launch in three outputs from 74 kW (100 PS) to 110 kW (150 PS), later up to 132 kW (180 PS). A six-speed manual was standard. In December 2010 Opel recalled vans for rear-axle problems and seatbelt anchorages. In May 2012 revised engines became up to 9% more efficient; Opel quoted 7.8 l/100 km and 205 g/km of CO2 for the front-drive panel van. A 2014 update added new infotainment and standard ESP, while the redesigned grille of the Renault was not adopted. The facelift presented on 15 May 2019 brought Euro 6d-TEMP engines, LED daytime running lights and optional wireless phone charging; a nine-seat Combi followed in October 2019.
Movano C (2021-)
After PSA and FCA merged into Stellantis, Opel replaced the Renault-based van. The new Movano, presented in May 2021, is a version of the Fiat Ducato, Peugeot Boxer and Citroen Jumper. It came with a 2.2-litre diesel (88-121 kW) and with the Movano-e, the first electric Movano, which had a 90 kW (122 hp) motor with 260 Nm and batteries of 37 or 70 kWh. Opel presented the updated Movano on 22 November 2023, and it went on sale in 2024 with a new front and rear, new diesels, an eight-speed automatic and a far stronger electric version.

Engines, transmissions and performance
| Engine (Movano C, 2024 update) | Power | Torque | Gearbox |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.2 diesel | 88 kW (120 hp) | not stated | manual or 8-speed automatic |
| 2.2 diesel | 103 kW (140 hp) | not stated | manual or 8-speed automatic |
| 2.2 diesel | 132 kW (180 hp) | not stated | manual or 8-speed automatic |
| Movano Electric | 200 kW (270 hp) | 400 Nm | single-speed |
Opel says the 2024 diesels use up to 9% less fuel than before; which outputs can be combined with the automatic depends on the version. The electric motor offers three driving modes: Eco with 120 kW, Normal with 160 kW and Power with the full 200 kW. Recuperation can be set in four stages with paddles behind the steering wheel. A Movano Hydrogen with a fuel cell, an 11 kWh battery and up to 400 km of WLTP range was shown at the IAA Transportation in September 2024.

Movano Electric: battery, range and charging
| Parameter | Movano-e (2021) | Movano Electric (2024) |
|---|---|---|
| Battery | 37 or 70 kWh | 110 kWh |
| Motor | 90 kW (122 hp), 260 Nm | 200 kW (270 hp), 400 Nm |
| WLTP range | not stated by Opel's 2023 release | up to 420 km |
| AC charging | - | 11 kW three-phase, standard |
| DC charging | - | up to 150 kW, 80% in 55 minutes |
| Payload | - | up to 1,500 kg |
The battery sits under the floor, so the electric van keeps the full 17 m³ of load space. Electric vans of all brands are collected in our electric cars section.
Dimensions, load space and payload
| Parameter (Movano C / Ducato body) | Metric | Imperial |
|---|---|---|
| Overall length | 4,950 / 5,400 / 6,000 / 6,350 mm | 194.9 / 212.6 / 236.2 / 250.0 in |
| Wheelbase | 3,000 / 3,450 / 4,035 mm | 118.1 / 135.8 / 158.9 in |
| Height | 2,250 / 2,500 / 2,750 mm | 88.6 / 98.4 / 108.3 in |
| Load area width | 1,870 mm | 73.6 in |
| Load volume | 8-17 m³ | 283-600 cu ft |
| Payload (Opel) | up to 2,000 kg (diesel), 1,500 kg (electric) | up to 4,409 / 3,307 lb |
Opel lists four lengths, three wheelbases and three roof heights. The previous Renault-based Movano B ranged from 5,075 mm (L1) to 6,875 mm, on wheelbases of 3,182 to 4,332 mm, also with 8 to 17 m³.

Running costs
The front-drive Movano B panel van was rated at 7.8 l/100 km after its 2012 engine update. For the current diesels Opel gives only the improvement of up to 9%, not a combined figure for every body. Fleet buyers can estimate the bill with the cost of ownership calculator.
Equipment and driver assistance
The 2024 Movano has 22 driver assistance systems and electronic aids. Adaptive cruise control with Stop & Go, lane keeping and a traffic jam assistant combine to give Level 2 assisted driving with hands on the wheel. Other systems include traffic sign recognition, forward collision alert with automatic emergency braking, blind-spot alert, drowsiness alert, 360-degree parking sensors and a digital rear-view mirror. Inside there is a touchscreen of up to 10 inches, an optional 7-inch digital instrument display, wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, keyless entry and start, a 230 V socket and an optional bench seat that folds into a work desk.
Safety
We have not found a Euro NCAP star rating for any Movano generation; large vans are usually not tested in Euro NCAP's passenger car programme. Safety equipment depends on the generation: ESP became standard on the Movano B in 2014, and the 2024 Movano has automatic emergency braking and the Level 2 assistance package listed above.
Reliability and known issues
The only sourced issue is the December 2010 recall of the Movano B for rear-axle problems and seatbelt anchorages. Because Movano A and B share their mechanicals with the Renault Master, and Movano C with the Fiat Ducato, parts and workshop knowledge are widely available across Europe.
Rivals
| Model | Engines | Power (hp) | Boot (l) | Price from (EUR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Opel Movano (2024) | 2.2 diesel, electric | 120-270 | 8-17 m³ | - |
| Fiat Ducato / Peugeot Boxer / Citroen Jumper | same as Movano | 120-270 | 8-17 m³ | - |
| Renault Master | diesel, electric | - | - | - |
| Ford Transit | diesel, electric | - | - | - |
| Mercedes-Benz Sprinter | diesel, electric | - | - | - |
Photo gallery


Opel Movano evolution in numbers
Did you know?
- The Opel Movano has been around for 28 years: 3 generations in our catalog since 1998.
- The longest-running generation is the Movano A (1998–2010): 12 years.
- The biggest jump in power came with the Movano C: up to 200 kW (272 PS), 68 kW more than the Movano B.
Most powerful version, kW
Figures from the 1cars catalog: power is the strongest version of each generation; generations without the figure are left out.
Opel Movano: first vs latest generation
| Spec | Movano A | Movano C | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Years | 1998–2010 | 2021–present | 23 years apart |
| Most powerful version | 107 kW (145 PS) | 200 kW (272 PS) | +93 kW (+87%) |
Oldest and newest generation in the 1cars catalog. Power is the strongest version of each; other rows are shown only when both generations have the figure.
Opel Movano in our rankings
More powerful than 88% of ranked vans and minibuses in the 1CARS catalog (No. 2 of 18).
FAQ
Is the Opel Movano a Renault Master?
Movano A (1998-2010) and Movano B (2010-2021) were built by Renault as twins of the Master. Since 2021 the Movano has been based on the Fiat Ducato.
What is the range of the Opel Movano Electric?
The 2024 Movano Electric with the 110 kWh battery is rated at up to 420 km WLTP. The earlier Movano-e had 37 or 70 kWh batteries.
How much can the Movano carry?
Opel quotes up to 17 m³ of load space and up to 2 t of payload for diesels, or up to 1.5 t for the electric version.
Is there an automatic Movano?
Yes. The Movano A offered the Tec-Shift automated manual from 2003, some Movano B versions had a six-speed automatic, and the 2024 Movano C has an eight-speed automatic.
Data sources
Data checked by an editor against the sources below.
- Wikipedia - Renault Master
- Wikipedia - Opel Movano
- Stellantis - Electric Innovative Efficient New Opel Movano Sets Standards
- Wikipedia - Fiat Ducato



